Skip to content Skip to navigation


The ELUM team comprised 40 people working across 7 organisations in 11 locations.

The Lead Co-ordinator was Dr Niall McNamara at the Centre for Ecology & Hydrology, Lancaster.

The Lead Investigators for each organisation were:

  • Dr Jon Finch - Centre for Ecology & Hydrology
  • Professor Iain Donnison - Aberystwyth University
  • Professor Pete Smith - University of Aberdeen
  • Professor Gail Taylor - University of Southampton
  • Dr Mike Perks - Forest Research
  • Professor Phil Ineson - University of York
  • Dr Saran Sohi - University of Edinburgh

The Project Manager was Jonathan Oxley (Energy Technologies Institute).

You can read more about the lead investigators and researchers involved or read more about the ELUM Consortium organisations below.

Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (CEH)

CEH were the Lead Coordinator for the ELUM Project.  They provided technical and project management of the entire project.  The Lancaster team undertook the chronosequence sampling of field sites across the UK (WP2).   CEH also undertook the GHG measurements associated with the project’s largest network field site in Lincolnshire and lead the coordination across the project (WP3).  The CEH team also conducted one of the largest pulse-labelling experiments to elucidate the uptake and movement of carbon in bioenergy crop plantations.

CEH Lancaster: Niall McNamara – Lead Coordinator, Jonathan Oxley - Project Manager, Rebecca Rowe, Dafydd Elias, Rachel Marshall, Aidan Keith, Emily Bottoms, Kim Parmar
CEH Wallingford: Jon Finch - PI, Ross Morrison, Jonathan Evans
CEH Edinburgh: Julia Drewer

The University of Aberdeen

The ELUM team at Aberdeen took data from a wide-range of sources to develop process-based modelling of bioenergy land-use change and created the Ecosystem Modelling Tool (WP4)

Pete Smith – PI
Researchers: Marta Dondini, Mark Richards, Mark Pogson

The University of Southampton

Gail Taylors Lab at the University of Southampton led the review of existing evidence in the area of Land-Use Change to Bioenergy crops (WP1) and are also ran a fully-instrumented SRC-W network field site (WP3).

Gail Taylor – PI
Researchers: Mat Tallis, Zoe Harris, Rob Holland, Caitriona Murray, Giorgio Alberti

Forest Research

Forest Research facilitated access to a range of Short Rotation Forestry sites across the UK for one-off sampling and undertook AboveGround Biomass measurement work (WP2).  They ran one network field site in Scotland and facilitated access to a second site for CEH for the GHG studies (WP3).

Northern Research Station: Mike Perks – PI
Resarchers: Carina Convery, Rab Howard
Alice Holt Research Station: James Morison, Sirwan Yamulki, Lukas Siebicke, Elena Vanguelova, Matthew Wilkinson, Eric Casella, Victoria Stokes

Aberystwyth University

The team at the Institute of Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences (IBERS) ran two Miscanthus network field sites, with both eddy covariance and soil chamber GHG measurements (WP3).

Iain Donnison and Kerrie Farrar – PI's
Researchers: John Clifton-Brown, Alice Massey, Jon McCalmont

The University of Edinburgh

The Soil Science team in the School of Geosciences providing expertise on soil fractionation and soil organic matter dynamics through modelling measured dynamics of key soil physical fractions (WP2)

Saran Sohi – PI, Researcher - Clare Peters

The University of York

The Ecology and Evolution Research Group has particular interests in the role of soils in global change and in the application of stable isotope approaches to ecological research.  They led the development of approaches to novel GHG measurement within the ELUM project (WP3).

Phil Ineson – PI, Researcher - Ben Keane

This project was commissioned and funded by the Energy Technologies Institute

energy technologies institute

The ELUM Consortium is led by the Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (CEH) and includes the following organisations:

  • Centre for Ecology & Hydrology
  • University of Aberdeen
  • University of Southampton
  • Forest Research
  • Aberystwith University
  • University of Edinburgh
  • The University of York